Final Design

When I think of America the first thing that comes to mind is how proud and patriotic they are.  When researching America’s history I learned about their involvement in World War 2 and came across this quote about the invasion of pearl harbour,

“No matter how long it may take us to overcome this premeditated invasion, the American people in their righteous might will win through to absolute victory.”
— President Franklin D. Roosevelt, December 8, 1941

In my opinion it sums up my view of American’s and makes me think that they are strong victorious and honourable people.  I thought this would be a good design for a statue so with my combined interest in the World War 2 women’s fashion and the America people I styled her in a sophisticated but elegant outfit with the appropriate hairstyle and colours.  Once I got the basis of the outfit done I began to think of accessories and detail.  I wanted to bring in the Veterans badge into the design and after various adjustments thought that it would look great as a belt buckle.  The American flag is a huge part of where you come from and your nationality so this was something I definitely wanted to be in the design.  Instead of going for the predictable, flag on a flag pole and the character holding it, I thought it would look a lot better as a feature of the character.  When anybody is wounded unexpectedly you have to put pressure on the wound to stop the bleeding which is normally a piece of material wrapped tight.  This gave me the picture of an American flag being wrapped round a wound.  It could become a bigger meaning with such a little detail.  The flag being wrapped around the leg as if it’s a wound is to symbolise that no matter how much people hurt, injure or scar America that the power of their pride of where they come from will overcome any pain and make them stronger.

9379_670162646360688_1520678831_nUSdeptofVA

 

http://www.nationalww2museum.org/learn/education/for-students/ww2-history/america-goes-to-war.html

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

